NAFTA 2.0?

- WASHINGTON, DC - The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) between Canada, Mexico, and the United States, was signed by U.S. President George H.W. Bush, Mexican President Carlos Salinas, and Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney in 1992. By 1993, the agreement was ratified by the legislatures of the three countries, and by December 8, 1993, President Bill Clinton signed the agreement into law. NAFTA entered into force on January 1, 1994.

By 2014, the agreement reached it's 20th year anniversary, acknowledged by the "Three Amigos Summit" in February of that same year. In the 2016 U.S. Presidential campaign season, NAFTA once again was brought to the forefront of political and economic discussions. With the new President-elect Donald J. Trump soon to be in office, join WITA as we look at the future of trade in the North American region, and what outcomes could follow from revisiting the soon-to-be 23 year old agreement.