Wtca-slider-press-room Carousel%20ga%20recordings%20%281%29 Covidbanner3 Case%20stories%20final%20screenshot

The World Trade Centers Association Launches Champions Awards to Recognize Excellence

Inaugural Honorees will be Recognized at the 2020 WTCA General Assembly Gala in Taipei
Dec 02, 2019

NEW YORK, NY – December 2, 2019 – Today, the World Trade Centers Association (WTCA) unveiled its “WTCA Champions Awards,” or “Champies,” for short, a new awards program designed to recognize excellence throughout its global network. Nominations for these awards will open in early 2020, and the inaugural winners will be presented at the WTCA’s 51st annual General Assembly (GA) Gala in Taipei.

“The Champions Awards are an opportunity to recognize the members who make the World Trade Centers Association network such a tremendous resource for local businesses and communities, and for each other,” said WTCA CEO Scott Ferguson. “Not only will the program recognize our Association’s ‘champions,’ but it will also help provide visibility to the important and innovative work of our members that is driving the future of global trade and investment.”

WTCA members are invited to nominate fellow members — be it an individual staff Member, or the entire team at a Member WTC — for their contributions in any of the following five categories, including:

  • Champion Award for Connectivity: Member who most exemplifies the concept of connecting local businesses to global trade opportunities
  • Champion Award for Reciprocity: Member who most exemplifies the concept of reciprocity and/or cooperation on joint projects
  • Champion Award for Network Support: Member who most exemplifies the concept of helping fellow members with their challenges
  • Champion Award for Sustainability: Member who most exemplifies action in one or more of the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals
  • Champion Award for Member of the Year: Member who most exemplifies the values, vision, mission, and goals of the Association

WTCA members will nominate potential honorees through a submission form, whereby they will provide a brief description of why a given WTC or staff person deserves to be recognized. Finalists will be announced in February 2020 and winners will be selected by a Board panel by March 1, 2020.

All winners will be honored onstage during the 2020 GA Gala in Taipei, and awarded a physical statuette along with a free registration for them and an accompanying guest to the subsequent 2021 GA in Accra, Ghana. They will also be individually profiled in a special “Champies” section in the WTCA publication, WTCA Meridian, and across the WTCA’s social media channels and Member e-blasts. Additionally, winners and finalists alike will be provided with marketing support to help drive awareness of their achievement. 

To stay up to date on the Champions Awards program, please follow the WTCA on social media using the hashtags #WTCAChampion and #WTCA50:


World Trade Centers Association (WTCA)
Alex Brown
Phone: +1 212 432 2605

About the World Trade Centers Association (WTCA)
The World Trade Centers Association (WTCA) is a network of more than 325 highly connected, mutually supporting businesses and organizations in nearly 100 countries. As the owner of the “World Trade Center” and “WTC” trademarks, the WTCA licenses exclusive rights to these brands for Members to use in conjunction with their independently-owned, iconic properties, facilities and trade services offerings. Through a robust portfolio of events, programming and resources that it offers its Members, the goal of the WTCA is to help local economies thrive by encouraging and facilitating trade and investment across the globe through Member engagement. To learn more visit