Independent Authority Committee against corruption

May 04, 2022

The President of the Republic Nicos Anastasiades on Tuesday announced the

appointment of the Transparency Commissioner and the members of the

Independent Authority against Corruption.

As Government Spokesman Marios Pelekanos said in a written statement, President

Anastasiades received at his office the President and the members of the Advisory

Council, who presented him with the list of 15 persons proposed as candidates for

the establishment of the Independent Authority against Corruption.

The President, exercising his powers under the legislation in question, decided to

appoint the Transparency Commissioner and the members of the Independent Anti-

Corruption Authority as follows:

Commissioner for Transparency:

Charis Poyiatzis, former Judge, LLB (Hons) Exon, University of Exeter, England.


Michael Constantinides, former Director General of the Ministry of Communications

and Works, holds a BSc Mechanical Engineering, Queen Mary College University of

London and MSc Engineering, University of Minnesota

Eleni Patera - Demosthenous, Lawyer, holder of a degree in Law, National

Kapodistrian University of Athens

Nikos Zambakidis, Accountant/Auditor, former General Manager of the Nicosia

Water Supply Council, holder of the ACCA professional qualification

Tatiana Zachariadou, Sociologist, BA in Sociology, State University of New York,

Albany and MA in Applied Sociology, University of Indianapolis.

According to the Spokesman, the Anti-Corruption Authority will take up its duties as

soon as possible, immediately after the completion of the procedures related to

staffing, housing, and issues related to the proper functioning of the Authority. The

Authority’s term of office shall be six years.